MOTORISTS can have their driving licenses suspended in six little-known ways – and that’s without even getting behind the wheel.
There are plenty of obvious ways to lose your license while driving, such as doing so recklessly or under the influence of alcohol.
But you can also have it suspended for a number of reasons that have nothing to do with driving, such as not paying child support.
In most cases, a conviction will mean you have your license suspended.
However, if you’re a frequent offender could permanently revoke your license or even send you to jail.
Below we’ve listed six ways, although keep in mind laws vary by state.
1. Failure to pay child support
If you’ve fallen behind on child support payments, you could have your license suspended.
The amount and timing vary by region, but you’ll be informed and given the chance to correct the situation before that happens though.
For example, in California, the licensing agency will give you 150 days to respond the first time.
But if it happens again, you’ll only have 30 days to get back to them before your license gets suspended.
If losing your license would make it harder for you to get to work and earn income to make the payments, you may apply for a temporary license in some states.
2. Underage possession of alcohol
If you’re below the legal drinking age and are caught tippling, you could get your license suspended too.
Most states suspend licenses for between 60 days and up to a year, but again, this depends on the state and how often you’ve done it.
In the state of New Jersey, youngsters over the age of 18 but under 21 will have their licenses suspended for six months if they’re caught with alcohol in the car.
This applies even if she or he wasn’t driving.
3. Defaulting on your student loans
The average student loan debt is nearly $33,000 per borrower, but defaulting on your payments could mean you lose your license.
That means you’ll need to deal with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), as well as your lender.
According to New York Times data obtained in 2017, 20 states were at the time suspending driving licenses if motorists failed to pay their loans.
Students with federal loans don’t have to make their repayments until October 1 this year following the coronavirus pandemic.
It could still be extended by President Joe Biden, but it’s not yet confirmed.
4. Skipping school
If you frequently miss school, some states will take away your privilege to drive.
In Florida, for example, teens under 18 can have their learner’s permit or license suspended for missing more than 15 days of school.
This applies if they’re unexcused absences within a 90-day period.
5. Writing bad checks
We can all make mistakes, especially when it comes to writing checks.
But if you’re writing bad checks on purpose, this can lead to a license suspension in states including Indiana and New York.
A bad check is any payment that is rescinded, invalidated, rejected, or not paid in full.
6. If you’re in debt to your state
If you’re in debt to your state, this could cost you your license, at least temporarily.
Usually this is for large debts of around $10,000 or more, and the state will notify you before you lose anything.
This applies in states such as New York and Massachusetts, just to mention a few.
However, a new proposal, first announced in February, aims to end driver’s license suspensions in Massachusetts over unpaid fines and fees.
Drinking coffee or water while driving could land you a huge fine as states crack down.
Meanwhile, driving with headphones could mean you get hit with a fine.
We explain how to find a cheap motor as prices of used cars rocket.